All default original files are read only and can’t be modified or edited. A copy of the file must be made before any changes can be made. To make a copy:

  1. Click on File->Vocab File->Save Vocab File As and give the file a new name and then click on Save.
  2. Once the file is saved, then you can go into the edit mode and start making changes.

Note: you only need to do Save Vocab File As one time to take off the read only property of a vocabulary file. When you are in Edit mode the software saves changes as you go and then makes one last save when you exit the Edit mode. If you keep doing File->Save As then you will end up with many files of the same name with copy_copy_copy on the end of the file name.